The Tale of the Ticket Stubs

Standard

I save all my ticket stubs, dear reader. But don’t act surprised. You already know I’m sentimental.

One day, my artist friend Richard was visiting. Whenever he visits, it turns into an art project, which is great because I’m not artistically inclined and I enjoy getting that push. Looking around the house for something he could inspire, I remembered that little box I keep all the ticket stubs in.

“So… how do you think I can display these?” I asked, handing him the box. In my head I envisioned a huge, custom-made wall piece.

But Richard used to be a Boy Scout. And Boy Scouts know how to do much with little. After a couple of minutes thinking, he looked down at my glass-topped coffee table. “Why not mount them on that?”

Immediately that struck me as a great idea. But… how? What special glue would be needed? And what special place would it need to be ordered from?

“Ordinary Scotch tape,” he said. HUH? But I know better than to question Richard. He da man.

So, after carefully curating the stubs, we folded bits of tape to the back of each one and just laid them down on the table. Randomly, yet artistically.

When we’d finished and stood back to admire our work, another question arose: how to protect the installation? What specially custom-cut piece of glass or Lucite would be needed? And what special place would it need to be ordered from?

“Do you have a piece of clear plastic?” he asked. HUH? But i know better than to question Richard. I thought about it.

And then it hit me: (BAM!) I have a clear plastic shower curtain, brand new in the package, that I could use. But… how to affix it?

“Ordinary Scotch tape,” he said.

Et voilà! The result became a popular conversation piece… and more importantly, an instant trip down memory lane. (see slideshow below.)

The moral of the story? Always keep an artist in your life to help you to see… and hear.

Do you have an artist in your life? How does this enhance the everyday ordinary-ness?

Aerial view of the stubbed-out coffee table

Aerial view of the stubbed-out coffee table

Occasionally I did buy my own tickets, like the one to my first Rick James concert! He'd just gotten out of the uh, joint.

Occasionally I bought my own tickets, like the one to my first Rick James concert after he’d just gotten out of the uh, joint.

 

tix4

Every year I covered the JVC Jazz Festival... which meant lots of free tickets (and excellent seats!) to lots of great concerts.

Every year I covered the JVC Jazz Festival… which meant lots of free tickets (and excellent seats!) to lots of great concerts.

 

tix2tix1

(R): Ticket from a NIGHT MUSIC (renamed SUNDAY NIGHT) taping--a TV show that mixed musicians in unique ways. I wrote a cover story for JazzTimes, so got to be at many tapings!

(R): Ticket from a NIGHT MUSIC (renamed SUNDAY NIGHT) taping–a TV show that mixed musicians in unique ways. I wrote a cover story for JazzTimes, so got to be at many tapings!

 

One thought on “The Tale of the Ticket Stubs

Leave a Reply

